Copycat

by Cullen Bunn, Heath Amodio & Elmer Cantada

NYT Bestselling writer Cullen Bunn and partner Heath Amodio team with Mortal Kombat producer Todd Garner for this action packed, cerebral thriller!

Sarah is an ER nurse with a unique power to diagnose her patients with just one touch. Unfortunately, her power comes at a painful cost, as she suffers the same agony as those she cares for.

For fans of Atomic Blonde and John Wick.

$5,019

supported of $5,000

107

supporters

Close video

EXPLORE OUR Rewards

(Click on images to expand)

$15

13

claimed

1704189285

Digital

Copycat story + bonus pages. 80 pages.

$22

24

claimed

13

Digital Deluxe

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures. 104 pages.

$32

55

claimed

1704189353

Physical Trade Paperback

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages.

$50

16

claimed

11

SIGNED Physical Trade Paperback

Signed by writers Cullen, Heath, Todd. Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short...

$125

0 / 10

claimed

32

PERSONALIZED Digital Deluxe + Digital Commission by Bnfer Flores

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages. P...

$200

0 / 10

claimed

31

PERSONALIZED Digital Deluxe + Digital Commission by Elmer Cantada

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages. P...

$200

2 / 10

claimed

38

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Mandy War

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$250

0 / 5

claimed

35

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Bnfer Flores

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$250

1 / 5

claimed

39

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Mike “Mez” Phillips

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$250

0 / 5

claimed

33

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Mike Bowden

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$275

0 / 3

claimed

36

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Dean Kotz

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$300

0 / 5

claimed

34

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Ace Continuado

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$300

0 / 10

claimed

37

1 of 1 PERSONALIZED Physical Trade Paperback + Commission by Eder Messias

Copycat story + bonus pages + 5 original copycat prose short story adventures, equaling 104 pages PL...

$80

1

claimed

15

Retailer Bundle - All copies SIGNED

For retailers only. 5 copies of the book at wholesale pricing, all signed by writers Cullen, Heath,...

$1

18

claimed

Slide06

Tip Jar

If you want to add something extra, you can increase in increments of $1 by simply pressing '+' in t...

ADD-ONS

These items are only available once you have selected at least one primary Reward listed above.

$100

0 / 5

claimed

Photo Dec 27 2023, 10 04 05 PM

Bnfer Flores DIGITAL Commission

Hi Res TIFF of any character of your choosing

$150

0 / 5

claimed

Bnfer Flores Commission

9x12 pencil/ink. Any character of your choosing

$100

0 / 10

claimed

Mandy War Commission

9x12 pencil/ink. Bust commission of any character of your choosing

$200

1 / 10

claimed

Eder Messias Commission

9x12 pencil/ink. Any character of your choosing

$125

0 / 3

claimed

Dean Kotz Commission

9x12 pencil/ink. Any character of your choosing

$150

0 / 5

claimed

Mike Bowden Commission

9x12 pencil/ink. Any character of your choosing

Story

Sarah, a talented ER nurse, has the unique ability to diagnose her patients with just one touch. Unfortunately, her power comes at a painful cost, as she suffers the same agony as those she cares for. When a mysterious woman named Emma dies in her arms, Sarah inadvertently leaches Emma’s extraordinary superhuman ability to fight. Sarah is then hunted by Emma’s killers, forced to leach more and more powers from an onslaught of superhuman assassins to stay alive. With any luck, she’ll survive long enough to solve Emma’s murder, and bring them all down.

Regarding custom stories:
These are not meant to be portraits. They are drawings BASED ON your likenesses. You will have approval over an initial sketch, and there will ONLY be ONE final draft done. We will email you for your description, job, and preferred power. Everything else is up to the creators. We own the character and the story. You keep your name :)

Preview

Xdwg2zWbn7NsBYZM6oehACNjmgkAAk-metaMTcwNDE4OTM1MyAyLnBuZw==-.pngY5iGOmIPwOPg6StTzg2JlyUNmAwk24-metaMS5wbmc=-.pngCjS6uBtQQhEhgwIubfnUpNn12u2qYC-metaMi5wbmc=-.png6C1P8owyCFznt28msUJ2Vy8WuiAHFN-metaMy5wbmc=-.pngIe3CxRcUFUA9KPtUGek48jDFf4Q3SA-metaNC5wbmc=-.pngMcDg4P50TAH5EIdDonKsPbiXjOnGVL-metaNS5wbmc=-.png

Bios

Copycat is based on a concept by producer Todd Garner (“Mortal Kombat”, “Tag”) and is written by Hustle & Hearts Films’ duo of Heath Amodio (“The Heathens”, and “Foretold”) and New York Times bestselling writer Cullen Bunn (“Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe”, “Sixth Gun”). Elmer Cantada (“Masque”, “Big Jack”) provides the line art, with colors by Gabe Contreras (“Datura”, “Witchblood”) and letters by Dave Lentz (“Good Boy”, “Curse of Cleaver County”).

Cullen Bunn and Heath Amodio launched Hustle & Heart Films in 2018 to give creators a chance to be more involved in the adaptations of their books and comics.

They sold their first two shows later that year to CW and Showtime respectively, and a third was sold to Amazon the following year. As a team, they’ve written The Heathens (Aftershock 2022/23), Long Haul (Storm King 2024), and three unannounced original graphic novels from another indie publisher. They also created the original graphic novel The Foretold (Oni Press), written by Amodio.

They currently have comic book projects in development with the team of Kristin Kreuk (Smallville, Burden of Truth) and Peter Mooney (Burden of Truth, Rookie Blue) and Eric Putzer (Burden of Truth), as well as Katee Sackhoff (Mandalorian) and Robin Gadsby (Sealed with a List), and also Saturday Night Live’s Bobby Moynihan.

Stretch Goals

$10,000 - Digital Making of… features the entire process of creating the book. From scripts to sketches to line art to inks to colors to letters to finished project. With commentary spread throughout from the writers and artists

$15,000 - Additional chapter added to the original Copycat story. Even more action and backstory!

Timeline

The book is completely finished and the only thing left to do is format the files for the printer. We expect it to be ready to start printing a month after the campaign is over. Printing and shipping should take around two more months, so delivery of rewards is expected to be done in Summer 2024.

Zoop will communicate with supporters should any delays occur, if there’s confusion about delivery, or if any other concerns pop up.

Frequently asked questions

Yes! We encourage you to get more than 1 item! That could be multiple copies of the same reward, or you can mix and match rewards! There is no limit, unless otherwise stated in the reward description.

Our campaigns are for a worldwide audience unless stated otherwise in the campaign. All international orders are sold with the terms DAP (Delivered At Place). You are responsible for any duties and taxes required for the shipment's entry into your country. Our carriers may require you to pay taxes and fees related to importation and customs brokerage of your shipment -- but if your item is really low in value, it may fall under the customs de minimis of most countries. For more information, please contact USPS

Zoop does not store or keep your credit card info. Stripe simply holds the credit card info until the end of a successful campaign and then charges it. It is strictly for this one time use and won't charge it ever again.

You can either access the transaction through your account and click the cancel button, or contact us at hello@wearezoop.com and we'll cancel it for you and send back a confirmation email.

 

Cancellations of rewards or add-ons of $500 or more must be made before there are 72 hours left in the campaign. The reason for this is it can have a negative effect on the tally of the campaign. If it is a limited reward or add-on, there may not be sufficient time for someone else to purchase it, leaving the campaign possibly not funded. We ask for your courtesy of the people running the campaign when making these decisions.

Please use the notes section in the last checkout step or you could e-mail us at hello@wearezoop.com with that info during the campaign if you'd like to get it out of the way. Otherwise, we'll be reaching out to all supporters of rewards that require feedback shortly after the campaign is over.

If you want to make changes, you should first cancel your original order and then start over with a new one. If you don't do that and simply process an additional order, the way our system is currently set up you may end up being overcharged for shipping -- which we could remedy for you, but it just takes that extra step of catching it and crediting you back the extra shipping, so please try the prior way first.

Rewards are the priority items that the creators have chosen for the campaign. Add-Ons are meant to be secondary items that are 'unlocked' after you buy something from the Reward level. There are no restrictions on buying Rewards, but you can only buy Add-Ons if you've bought a Reward. Zoop sets this up under the direction of the creators. Some may choose to only have Rewards, some may choose an even balance of Rewards and Add-Ons, and others may choose to only have one or two Rewards with the rest of the items being Add-Ons.

Since we have an a la carte rewards system, shipping rates will vary from supporter to supporter. We use a weight-based calculation system in your checkout cart, though, so, after you enter your country, you'll be able to see it calculated in real time with each item you add.

No - this is it! We're essentially your in-campaign pledge manager. If you are interested in supporting these creators, this is the time to do it!  And it's the exact reason we allow you to purchase as many rewards as you want during the campaign!